Patan Durbar Square

— Elipha Pradhananga

Assignment II

In the heart of the ancient city of Yala is the Patan Durbar square area, which is where I head to when I need to clear my head. It is my escape. It is a pleasant break from the ugly, congested building mushrooming in just about every empty space in Kathmandu. This place never fails to bring a smile to my face. I feel refreshed and charged up after every visit. Surrounded by temples and statues and intricate carvings, it has an old world charm. It reminds me of an era long gone. An era still captured in this tiny square. Still alive in the chants of the Bhajans by the old ones at the Krishna Mandir. Still alive in the long queue for water at the dhunge dhara. Still alive in the hustle and bustle of the market area- the commotion caused by the street vendors and their customers. The pigeons busy enjoying the feed in front the temples. The temples with the red jhallar (curtain) fluttering in the air. The sound of the bells. The sights and the sounds all so soothing. It is a melting pot of both the old and the young. People of all age groups throng this beautiful square. You get to see the tourists, the elderly sitting along the dabali in their daura suruwal and the young ones clad in their jeans. All engrossed in their little chat. It is amazing how everyone feels so invited and comfortable here. It is a great place for people watching. It is the centre for so many jatras and festivities. There is so much that goes on around the square. I’ve stayed up all night here once during the Krishna Janmasthami. Waited to see the Gai Jatra drenched  in rain on most occasions. Walked here in daze, half asleep to see the annual Narsingh Naach. I feel connected to my ancestors. This is another reason I like this place so much. This is our history, our heritage. There is a famous saying “Chettri bigre moj le Newar bigre bhoj le”. It may be true to some extent. The Newars are extravagant and wasteful when it comes to celebrating their festivities and there is a lot of it may I say. But their commitment to save the culture is something praiseworthy. Out of their love for beauty and art and merry-making came the magnificent Patan Durbar Square and many a temples and monuments.  I feel proud of the rich cultural heritage. How can anyone not appreciate the architecture and the artistry? I find this place romantic at times, absolutely serene at other. I am totally in love with this place. Morning, noon and night Patan Durbar Square is beautiful any time of the day.

Published by

pranglish

Application of rhetoric in composition teaching

One thought on “Patan Durbar Square”

  1. This feels nice that there are people who feel the same way as I do. This made me nostalgic. Nice writing.

Leave a comment